High: °
Low: °
Chance of precipitation:


Sunday, February 25 News

NMHS Athletic Hall of Fame to hold induction

Three legendary coaches and nine standout athletes representing a span of nearly 80 years will be inducted soon during the New Milford High School Athletic Hall of Fame's inaugural induction banquet.

The organization’s (nmhsahof.org) event will be held Oct. 28 starting with a 5:30 p.m. reception at Fairview Farm Golf Course in Harwinton.

More than 200 tickets have already been sold. Remaining tickets will be sold on a first come/first served basis to those emailing nmhsahof2017@gmail.com or normc49@att.net.

Joseph Wiser, a longtime coach and the school’s first athletic director, will be joined by coaches Russell Devin (track, cross country) and Fran Zaloski (field hockey, basketball, softball and more) with enshrinement in the hall, which will be sited at the high school.

Athletes to represent the NMHS AHOF Class of 2017 are Fred Collins (’33), Howard “Pete” Pease (’62), Peter Squires (’70), Mary Schneider (’79), Laura Doria McGovern (’86), Jamie McCullough (’91), Jesse McCullough (’91), Rob Belville (’00) and Ashley O’Connor (’10).

Up to another dozen inductees are expected to be announced in the spring of 2018.

Tickets are $50.

For more information, an in-depth look at the class of 2017 and more photos, visit the hall of fame’s website.